If a truck is overweight at a DOT weigh station, there are a variety of consequences the driver will face. They may vary by state, but there are some general standards to what you can expect.
- Delay of Service: A truck driver’s time is money, and an overweight truck inspection is going to take a lot of it. If you are on a tight deadline and are caught with an overweight truck, you can almost guarantee that you won’t be on time for your delivery. This can cost you money, as well as damage customer relationships.
- Fines: Depending on the state you are driving through, there can be harsh fines attached to driving an overweight truck. These fines can range anywhere from a few hundred dollars to over $10,000 per offense. In most states, repeat offenders can even pay double or triple the amount of the normal fine.
- Jail: In some states, driving with an overweight truck earns the driver a direct trip to jail, with a sentence up to two months. In addition to the jail time, states will revoke a driver’s CDL as part of the legal proceedings.
What is the fine for an overweight truck?
Depending on the state you are fined in and if you have been fined before, the rates can vary. Some states only charge a few pennies per pound you are overweight, which can result in smaller fines. Other states, like Rhode Island, will charge $125 per pound over the weight limit, which can lead a single fine to be $57,000.
While some states have small fines, additional fees, charges, and legal processing costs are where the real damage is felt. In Indiana, it is only a few cents per overweight pound, but you will have to pay court costs, and you might have your vehicle’s registration and driver’s license suspended, which will cost a significant amount of time and money.